Kofi Makinwa

Kofi Makinwa (IEEE fellow) holds degrees from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (B.Sc., M.Sc.), Philips International Institute, Eindhoven (M.E.E.), and Delft University of Technology, Delft (Ph.D.). From 1989 to 1999, he was a research scientist at Philips Research Laboratories, where he designed sensor systems for interactive displays, and analog front-ends for optical and magnetic recording systems. In 1999 he joined Delft University of Technology, where he is currently an Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Professor of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Engineering and Head of the Microelectronics Department.

Dr. Makinwa holds 30+ patents, has authored or co-authored 250+ technical papers and 10 books, and has co-edited 6 more. He has been on the program committees of several other IEEE conferences, including the VLSI symposium and ESSCIRC. He is a co-organizer of the Advances in Analog Circuit Design (AACD) workshop.

He is a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and a member of the editorial board of the Proceedings of the IEEE, the society’s flagship journal.

Viola Schaffer

Viola Schäffer was born in Szeged, Hungary in 1974.  She received M.S. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Arizona, Tucson in 1999.  She joined Texas Instruments Incorporated (formerly Burr-Brown Corporation) in 1998 and has been working as an analog IC design engineer/manager at various locations including Tucson, Arizona, as well as Erlangen and Freising in Germany.   Her work focuses on precision signal conditioning including instrumentation and programmable gain amplifiers, power amplifiers, industrial drivers as well as magnetic-based current sensors and precision magnetic sensors.  She has led multiple technology-circuit co-developments and designed key enabling IP on these new process nodes.  She holds 18 patents related to this work with several applications pending, is member of the Technical Ladder Council, Analog Signal Chain Patent Committee and was elected Texas Instruments Distinguished Member Technical Staff in 2018.  She serves on the Analog Track program committee for the International Solid-State Circuits Conference and European Solid-State Circuits Conference.

IEEE websites place cookies on your device to give you the best user experience. By using our websites, you agree to the placement of these cookies. To learn more, read our Privacy Policy.